THE LAST 45

20 Jan

In a lifetime of buying singles and playing them a hundred times in a row, I bought my last 45 on a day in the ’70s. Tower Records at 14th Street was crowded with kids. I walked over to the counter and in a clear, grown-up voice said: “Do you have ‘Please Go All the Way’ by the Raspberries?” In the silence that fell over the store, my words rang in my ear. One of the clerks, shocked into immobility, said, “Huh?”

I really wanted that song, with its crunchy guitars and luscious, athletic harmonies and suggestive lyrics. But now I was seeing myself in a movie: adult woman, dressed for the office; power rock in the air; young people stopping and staring. I couldn’t repeat the words. I turned and walked out.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KvkfMRAi2ns#t=0

 

3 Responses to “THE LAST 45”

  1. Arlee Bird March 10, 2014 at 3:05 am #

    It really is a great song. It did seem to have a rather shocking concept in its day, but now is pretty tame.

    I guess the last 45 I purchased was in about 1965. Once I started buying albums I was hooked on the long plays. Wish I still had those 45’s I used to own.

    I’ve been writing about my record collection on my blogs of late.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote
    An A to Z Co-host blog

    • marthaspencil March 10, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

      An add: My daughter told me she did not remember this song. What! I said, where were you in 1972? “Mom, I was five years old,” she replied. Arlee, I like your blog.

  2. Frank Hauch February 2, 2017 at 12:07 am #

    Yeah, nice tune. Sort of early power pop, in a way.

    Having grown up in the 80’s, I did get a chance to spin some 45’s with my big sister. Weird Al comes to mind.

    By the time I was of record buying age, however, casette tapes had taken over. And as high school loomed close, the mighty CD firmly planted its grasp.

Leave a comment